April Jackson

BY: ALEXIS LIRETTE

Jackson

On June 4, 2012 I was given the opportunity to interview Ms. April Jackson, a rising sophomore at Ponchatoula High School. She has just started in Upward Bound making this her first summer here. “I’ve learned how to make new friends.” April says happily when asked what she has learned in the program so far.

She says she’s figured out how to make a lot of friend. Names like Cheasle Coon, Kali Baham, and Alicia Walker were mentioned when I inquired further on the subject.

Making new acquaintances isn’t the only thing on Jackson’s mind. “I like math, mainly the algebra part of it.”

When asked why algebra interest her so much she quirkily responded with; “I guess it gives me some sort of challenge. It’s also quite fun.”

On her off time she likes to listen to music, “and sing to it” she adds quickly. She also has a more aggressive side. She plays basketball, “on my own time” she reminds me. “Food and hanging out with my friends.” She tells me when inquired about her favorites.

We all love food and hanging out with friends now that we’re teenagers; but, what do you want to do after you graduate? “I’d like to study medicine and become a pharmacist. I’d also like to get rich and married then I will become a great mother.”

She smiles thinking about her future and all the perks of getting it started early.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

